Dear High School Freshmans…

tumblr_nm2fhuc5vw1twyshko1_500

・。・★・。☆★・。・

Now that I have graduated high school, I miss it terribly. If I could go back and do it all over again I would. I would change some things and also relive some of the awesome moments I had. For those of you who are starting high school, here’s some things I learned. A little of advise for starters.


Challenge yourself and focus on important things first.

When I first started High school I was so excited! “Heck yeah! I’m half way to being an adult!” That’s what I though. So instead of focusing on my academics, it was more important for me to be cool. I slacked off in classes. Sometimes I didn’t even show up. I would skip school with friends, be rude to teachers, flirt with the guys, you name it.

It wasn’t until the end of freshman year that I thought to myself. “What the heck am I doing?” That’s when I decided to challenge myself and take college prep courses and Pre-Ap classes. If I could go back  I would focus on my academics. I would get more involved in clubs like student council and key club.

It will all be worth it at the end when you’re a senior and you have to apply to college. Everything you do now will affect you in the future in some sort of way. So think before you act. Ask yourself “How will this impact me later on?” And lastly, always keep a positive mind. There will be a lot of times where you just wanna give up but don’t!


People come and go. Don’t fret it.

One of the things you will fast learn in life is that people will come and go. You won’t always have the same best friends you started and ended school with.

My first year of high school I was still hanging around my three best friends I made in middle school. Then it deminished to only one of my best friends and I. Later on I made five new friends. I wouldn’t call them exactly my best friends but they’re indeed very close to my heart.

Now that I’m out of high school I rarely talk to any of them. We all went our separate ways. That’s what happens most of the time after high school. It’s important to keep touch though. Sometimes me and my friends will plan something when they’re in Austin.


Participate and enjoy every second of it! 

What I miss most about high school is the football games, pep rallies, fun raisers, and all the school dramas and shows in the theatre.

At first I didn’t really care for those things. I didn’t like to participate in the whole homecoming week where you got to dress funky and what not. It wasn’t my thing. But as high school was coming to an end I had to try to get more involve! I didn’t want to graduate without having participated in any of the school traditions.

So for those who might think it’s stupid to do the whole homecoming week thing, trust me, it isn’t. You will not regret dressing up funky, going to a talent show, or watching your football team beat the other school. It’s all part of the high school norm. It’s a must! Plus it’s a lot of fun! That’s how you make most of your high school memories.


Flash cards and tutoring. Just do it. 

Trust me on this. You might not want to go to tutoring or are to lazy to do flash cards, but they will help you!

There were times where I needed help and the teacher would tell me to go to tutoring but I was just too lazy. I wanted to go home and rest. But one day I decided to finally go. I was a little scared because I had no idea what to expect. It was great though, the teacher really helped me understand what I was having trouble on. That day forth, I would go to tutoring whenever I needed the help.

Now flash cards. Teachers will tell you to do flash cards. It gets annoying how much they suggest it. But just do them. They suggest it for a reason. It’s also scientifically proven to help students study better.

Happy Learning! ~XoXo, Mayra

・。・★・。☆★・。・

Leave a Reply

