2016: A Personal Review

gravity-falls

・。・★・。☆★・。・

The year has finally come to a close and its time to write down our new years resolutions (something I most likely won’t be doing). So instead of writing my new years resolutions like many others, I’ll be taking a look at 2016 to talk about how I’ve changed or didn’t change. 

Honestly, I have to say that 2016 was not the best year for planet earth. It was full of racism, terror, and debate. We had countless deaths of innocent families because of terrorism, climate change, and some of our inspirational celebrities have also died. I feel like this new year will only get worse. Things have to get worse before they get better right? Is that something people say? 

Personally, this year was alright. Definitely not the best but not the worst. I didn’t spend many of my nights crying but I also didn’t loose weight or finally move out. I did manage to get out of my shell and put myself out there. I tried online dating and although it didn’t work out because I wasn’t completely ready for a relationship, I still managed to meet someone who had a great impact on my life. Thanks to this person I was able to understand where I stood relationship wise. I realized that I don’t want to commit to a relationship until I’m comfortable with who I am and what I want. 

This year also taught me how to be more social in person. I’m normally a very shy and secluded person who doesn’t like to socialize with others unless its needed. But towards the end of 2016 I managed to be more confident in myself and speak up.

I started without a job and finished without one (not counting my job as a secretary for my dad’s work; he doesn’t really pay me). I’m also no where close to graduating college. I managed to pass my classes with high “B’s” but I’m still not sure of what I really want to do. I know I want to work with children and work in a hopital setting but I just don’t know how to get there and I don’t have enough patients to wait many years to graduate. Next year I will definitely have to think deeper and search for other options. I will not loose faith though. 

Most of my days during 2016 were spent in school, watching anime, and reading books. I didn’t manage to do any community service like I had planned but I did finally get a car! Because of that, I was able to go out and explore some parts of town that I’ve never been. I hope that 2017 will be full of new sights and countless adventures. 

Although a little too late, I finally managed to get back to blogging! I know I had said that I would blog more during 2016 but I honestly just either didn’t have the right time to do it or I just didn’t know what to write about. I’m just glad that I was able to do a last minute come back and customize my blog to get those ideas rolling. I will definitely have more content in 2017 although most of it will involve food, anime, or books.

How was your 2016? Do you have any 2017 new years resolutions?

Happy Holidays! ~XoXo, Mayra

・。・★・。☆★・。・

Leave a Reply

